European Arrest Warrant vote

Theresa May sent a voter ID survey to the Conservatives’ email list his afternoon:

“With less than six months until the election, it’s vital we know your views about our country and the issues that matter most to your family.

But the home secretary was rather less interested in her colleagues’ views on the European Arrest Warrant, which is why she tried to prevent parliament voting on the issue last week. The move backfired spectacularly — with panicked Tory whips dragging David Cameron from a dinner to vote in white tie after Labour threatened to end proceedings early.

The Tories have now been forced to back the measure — seen by Eurosceptics as a tentacle of a creeping European superstate — after mischievous opposition decided to schedule a vote on the eve of the Rochester and Strood by-election.

Here are the 28 Tory (26 plus two tellers) and two Labour rebels:

Peter Bone (teller)
Philip Hollobone (teller)
Adam Afriyie
Richard Bacon
John Baron
Andrew Bridgen
Bill Cash
Christopher Chope
Philip Davies
David Davis
Nick de Bois
James Gray
Chris Heaton-Harris
Gordon Henderson
Gerald Howarth
Julian Lewis
Jason McCartney
Nigel Mills
Anne Marie Morris
David Nuttall
Andrew Percy
Dominic Raab
John Redwood
Jacob Rees-Mogg
Laurence Robertson
Andrew Rosindell
Richard Shepherd
Henry Smith

Kate Hoey
Graham Stringer

Counting figures such as leadership plotter Adam Afriyie through the ‘noe’ lobby, the tellers included the bookies’ favourite potential UKIP defector: Philip Hollobone.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


Comments are limited to 1000 characters.