The Liberal Democrats paid almost £9,000 to hire audience members for Nick Clegg’s town hall meetings, documents published by the Electoral Commission reveal. In contrast with the supposedly organic groundswell of support for the party leader, events consultancy Full House Audience Management were paid £7,600 to find audiences for four meetings between April 10 and May 4 in Gateshead, Glasgow, Redcar, and London.

Embarassingly, Lib Dem spinners were not only paying to fill venues but a £2,000 invoice for one event was halved due to “poor response” from members of the public.

The revelations echo an incident from March in which the Conservatives were exposed for “bussing in” Tory supporters to pose as students for a speech by David Cameron proclaiming his party’s “openness and trust”. Alarm bells were raised when those sitting behind the lectern  at multicultural East London University were conspicuously white.

Nick Clegg is looking more phoney with every passing minute.

  1. Pingback: LLPaulJ
  2. Pingback: Mark
  3. Pingback: Mags W
  4. Pingback: Alasdair Ross
  5. Pingback: p
  6. Pingback: Carl Legge
  7. Pingback: Stephen Harman
  8. Pingback: Stephen Race
  9. Pingback: Tom Miller
  10. Pingback: LabourList
  11. Pingback: gemma tumelty
  12. Pingback: WestMonster
  13. Pingback: House Of Twits
  14. Pingback: Nathan Trout
  15. Pingback: Matthew Bennett
  16. Pingback: North Briton
  17. Pingback: Sarah Ditum
  18. Pingback: Shamik Das
  19. Pingback: The Old Politics
  20. Pingback: CathElliott
  21. Pingback: Lizzie H-J
  22. Pingback: James Mackenzie
  23. Pingback: Ledy Ahmad Fauzy
  24. Pingback: Kate Starling
  25. Pingback: Piffle Jane
  26. Pingback: Chris
  27. Pingback: Steve Reed
  28. Pingback: Brit Lefit
  29. Pingback: Eliot Carroll
  30. Pingback: Ryan Jackson
  31. Pingback: c c
  32. Pingback: Serenus Zeitblom
  33. Pingback: Jonathan Taylor
  34. Pingback: gordonrouse
  35. Pingback: Thesavage
  36. Pingback: John Hickey-Fry
  37. Pingback: RupertRead
  38. Pingback: Joe Cassels
  39. Pingback: Rangeeni
  40. Pingback: gordonrouse
  41. Pingback: william haymes
  42. Pingback: Paula Smart
  43. Pingback: Robert Weale
  44. Pingback: Charles Watson
  45. Pingback: Laura Price
  46. Pingback: Thom Brooks
  47. Pingback: Stephen Turner
  48. Pingback: nobby-Lobby
  49. Pingback: Kate Haigh
  50. Pingback: Rosie
  51. Pingback: John Edginton
  52. Pingback: jennifer forbes
  53. Pingback: Mike Parker
  54. Pingback: Vince O'Hanlon
  55. Pingback: linda nicklin
  56. Pingback: bus driver
  57. Pingback: john spellar
  58. Pingback: Tim J
  59. Pingback: Alex Zatman
  60. Pingback: Ruth Smeeth
  61. Pingback: Jonathan Walker
  62. Pingback: House Of Twits
  63. Pingback: Luke Akehurst
  64. Pingback: Peterward
  65. Pingback: Tudor Evans
  66. Pingback: Enzo Rossi
  67. Pingback: Jenna
  68. Pingback: Tom Blenkinsop
  69. Pingback: Tom Blenkinsop
  70. Pingback: Kevin McDougall
  71. Pingback: Jonathan Harris
  72. Pingback: Travelling Fan
  73. Pingback: MS
  74. Pingback: Eddy Anderson
  75. Pingback: Stacey Vail
  76. Pingback: Maria Barrett
  77. Pingback: FOTO8
  78. Pingback: Robin Baker
  79. Pingback: Mark McNulty
  80. Pingback: phil jones
  81. Pingback: Nick Taylor
  82. Pingback: Nick Drew
  83. Pingback: Sara T'Rula
  84. Pingback: Tenzin
  85. Pingback: Ti Maher
  86. Pingback: Jack
  87. Pingback: Paul Kenny
  88. Pingback: Ira
  89. Pingback: Natasha Green
  90. Pingback: Basma Hassan
  91. Pingback: Mike Jay
  92. Pingback: Ryan Peacock
  93. Pingback: Gareth Douce
  94. Pingback: David Cameron
  95. Pingback: Lara Pattison
  96. Pingback: Lara Pattison
  97. Pingback: Tessa Chernoi
  98. Pingback: Dominic Ellison
  99. Pingback: Dominic Ellison
  100. Pingback: News Felch
  101. Pingback: George Hanoman
  102. Pingback: Dawson.
  103. Pingback: Seamus Kennedy
  104. Pingback: Bedroom Coder
  105. Pingback: Dan
  106. Pingback: Mat M
  107. Pingback: Acidhouse69
  108. Pingback: PadPad
  109. Pingback: Leigh Moore
  110. Pingback: Rory MacFadyen

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


Comments are limited to 1000 characters.