In his conference speech yesterday, David Cameron praised 97 year old activist Harry Beckough for his service to the Tories down the years. As Guido has observed, Sky News ran a less than smooth live interview with Beckough, in which Kay Burley oscillates between patronising the nonagenarian (“you didn’t have 24-hour news when you first started!”) and getting her facts wrong, including confusing Attlee chancellor Stafford Cripps with some kind of WWII military regiment from the West Midlands.

Scrapbook has tracked down the video:

The segment got off to an inauspicious start with Beckough, not realising he was “live on the tele”, asking Burley “Wait a minute, who are you?”. It deteriorates from there:

KB: OK just to tell you about the deficit and all that sort of stuff in a second, we’re trying to sort out a couple of chairs…
HB: Wait a minute, who are you?
KB: Harry you’re live on the tele. You didn’t used to have 24 hour news when you first started in politics did you?
HB: No.
KB: Now you were mentioned weren’t you. Can I just remind our viewers first of all what was said about you then we’ll have a quick chat. This is Harry Beckough and we heard from the Prime Minister…
HB: Beckhough! Like ‘rough’ or ‘tough’.
KB: Right ho. Just say that again, Beckhough?
HB: Hough.
KB: Hough, Beckhough, there we go.
HB: In Yorkshire. Hough. As in piece of land.
KB: Oh I see. OK. Born in 1929, is that right? Were you born in 1929?
HB: No. I was born in 1914.
KB: When did you join the party?
HB: 1929.
KB: Fine. And you fought for the Stafford Cripps? Is that right?
HB: I didn’t fight for him, I fought against him.

This isn’t the first time Burley has been unprepared for an interview.

  1. Pingback: pam lorenz
  2. Pingback: Lee Dent
  3. Pingback: William French
  4. Pingback: Edward Leathem
  5. Pingback: Mark Ferguson
  6. Pingback: Tom Harris
  7. Pingback: Charles Smith
  8. Pingback: Duncan Hothersall
  9. Pingback: JPieslak
  10. Pingback: Iain Baird
  11. Pingback: Hugh O'Connell
  12. Pingback: Labour Uncut
  13. Pingback: Mike Haw
  14. Pingback: Mark Everden
  15. Pingback: Iain Hepburn
  16. Pingback: Richard Johnson
  17. Pingback: Phil BC
  18. Pingback: Emma Nicol
  19. Pingback: nobloodyworries
  20. Pingback: Vicky McCann
  21. Pingback: Andrew Kierig
  22. Pingback: DeludedDonny
  23. Pingback: Matthew Woods
  24. Pingback: Wesley Rykalski
  25. Pingback: Dgem McD
  26. Pingback: Chris Mou
  27. Pingback: Tom Rutter
  28. Pingback: MindinFlux
  29. Pingback: Jon Kennard
  30. Pingback: Alasdair
  31. Pingback: Jessica Asato
  32. Pingback: Paul Twinn
  33. Pingback: Ben Furber
  34. Pingback: Sarah Rainey
  35. Pingback: Jon Wilcox
  36. Pingback: Max
  37. Pingback: Chris
  38. Pingback: Matt
  39. Pingback: mark wright
  40. Pingback: Cllr Mark Bennett
  41. Pingback: Tim Nicholls
  42. Pingback: the credo
  43. Pingback: Gordon MacMillan
  44. Pingback: Kezia Dugdale
  45. Pingback: Neil Brailsford
  46. Pingback: nobby-Lobby
  47. Pingback: Laura Anstey
  48. Pingback: matt_heath
  49. Pingback: Michael Ellis
  50. Pingback: nobby-Lobby
  51. Pingback: weissnicht
  52. Pingback: Cllr Joshua Peck
  53. Pingback: pete
  54. Pingback: Eve Broughton
  55. Pingback: Louise Carter
  56. Pingback: Arif Ansari
  57. Pingback: paul west
  58. Pingback: Andrew Burgess
  59. Pingback: Walbrook and Avon
  60. Pingback: Jos Bell
  61. Pingback: Ian Sullivan
  62. Pingback: Emlyn Busby
  63. Pingback: safefromwolves
  64. Pingback: Ian Pannell
  65. Pingback: Jeremy Rowe
  66. Pingback: Steve Ratcliffe
  67. Pingback: Josh Halliday
  68. Pingback: Richard Kendall
  69. Pingback: John Nor
  70. Pingback: Johnny B Goode
  71. Pingback: Alasdair
  72. Pingback: Nick Drew
  73. Pingback: nilsinela boray
  74. Pingback: nilsinela boray
  75. Pingback: heather leith
  76. Pingback: Neil Lindsay
  77. Pingback: Martin Clark
  78. Pingback: Rados Koprivica
  79. Pingback: craftandart
  80. Pingback: Gert
  81. Pingback: Jon Dennis
  82. Pingback: James Cowley
  83. Pingback: Maxine Frances

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


Comments are limited to 1000 characters.